system

Categories
News

Nov-Dec 2022 Reminder

1) 5/11 2023-2024新生面見日 

2) 18/11 K2 參觀藍田公共圖書館 

3) 25/11 K3 佐敦谷公園

4) 9/12 11,12月份生日會

5) 12/12 K2 參觀惠康超級市場

6) 16/12 海洋公園親子遊

7) 22/12 親子聖誕嘉年華

8) 24-30/12 聖誕假期

Do not let children rely too much on the use of e-learning. Diversified learning is more helpful to enhance interest

Written by: Director of Program Development, Carmen Leung

In the midst of the epidemic, there is a wide range of educational animations or online children’s programs for parents to choose from. Many parents also download different tablet apps for their children to use in the hope that they can learn through interactive or interesting images and sounds. Which animations and apps are good for children’s learning? What should parents pay attention to when using multimedia to help their children learn?

Time to use e-learning according to age

In early childhood, as the brain area responsible for coordinating the five senses is developing rapidly, I do not recommend children aged 0 to 2 years old to rely too much on TV or tablet computers for learning. This is because the images on the TV or tablet are flashing at a very high frequency, and children’s eyes and brains will unconsciously receive stimulation continuously, and over time, visual stimulation will become a habit, and brain development will be affected, resulting in reduced concentration.

Some parents say, “My child is very attentive when watching TV and playing with iPhone, but not when reading books, so I buy a lot of learning animations for her to watch. Have parents ever thought that if the eyes and brain are accustomed to constant stimulation, relatively static things such as books and teachers’ explanations will naturally become uninteresting, if you continue to let young children rely on rich images to learn, what to do if one day in the future they will need to face books?

Since the brain of children over 2 years old is more mature, parents can let children over 2 years old use TV and computer to learn in a limited way. The time should be no more than 15 minutes a day as a starting point, and older children can watch a little more. As children grow older, the high-frequency flicker of the computer or TV will have a relatively lesser impact on brain development.

Multi-learning mode is recommended

Although displays have an effect on children’s attention span, I do not believe that using TV and computers for learning is undesirable. Multimedia or computer programs can make learning more interesting and interactive, so that children can enjoy learning more and learn more quickly. However, in addition to using interactive multimedia for learning, children also need to adapt to other less interactive learning modes, such as books and one-way lectures, and find the fun in learning.

Parents should provide their children with a variety of learning channels, such as taking them to the library, playing educational games with them, visiting museums, going for walks on nature education trails, or even teaching them to read the English menu at restaurants, etc., so that they can try different learning modes and methods to find the joy of learning.

Educating your child is for primary school? Parent-child education is more important

Written by: Octopus parent, Mr. Leung Wing Lok

I remember when my eldest son, Hay, was in K1, I wrote, “Son, are you happy to start school? I ask my child “Are you happy?” one school year later. I don’t have to consider answer. My wife and I are very happy and thankful for the love and effort of the kindergarten, and Hay is very happy every day and is eager to go to school every day (especially to meet the teachers). Someone reminded me, “I’ll ask you again when you’re ready to apply for Primary One, are you happy? It’s just like a tray of cold water pouring on me.

Entering elementary school becomes the biggest shadow for parents?

I have heard many parents tell me that the biggest shadow in the three years of kindergarten is the promotion to primary school, how much do I have to do for my child? Should we arrange for interview classes? Should we take remedial classes in English or manners (no mistake, there are really training classes in the market to take remedial classes in manners)? Or is it enough to have 16 out of 18 arts? Or should we learn a cold skill to stand out from the crowd? For example, learning magic or acrobatics. Both parents and children are busy remembering to enjoy happy parent-child time, especially when all activities have a purpose, the mentality changes accordingly, and children may no longer be interested in interest classes.

Parents are worried about choosing their favorite elementary schools and making a resume

Especially when K3 students enter the “school enrollment season” in June, parents and children are faced with the choice of enrolling in 10 or 8 elementary schools. As a father, you would like to enroll in only one or two elementary schools of your choice, but will you be able to bear the responsibility of “no school for your son”?

Another problem is to make a resume, how beautiful does it have to be? Many schools say they will only accept a maximum of four pages, but I have seen other parents writing “work reports” for their children that are as thick as prospectuses and as beautiful as the Apple computer’s profile book. If you look at your child, you don’t see that he is particularly awake, nor is he a super “pretty boy”, are you brave enough to make a 4-page resume?

“The choice between “promotion to primary school” and “being a human being

To sum up what Hay has learned in kindergarten over the past year. The most precious thing is not how good the “academic performance” is, but learning to get along with others and being polite. Of course, I am most grateful for the teacher’s special instruction to Hay to “love Daddy and work hard”, so that I can change from “someone I don’t see all the time” to “someone I cherish seeing” in my child’s mind. This kind of education may not be helpful for the promotion to primary school, but it is a value that is cherished between parents and children for a lifetime

Think about it, does kindergarten specialize in nurturing your child to “go on to primary school” or to “be a human being”? Similarly, as a parent, do you educate your child only for the purpose of “moving up to primary school”?

Categories
Parents Zone Parents Zone Parents Zone

To love children, first to love themselves,
3 moves to teach you to maintain the best mental state

Written by :Family Dynamics Child Play Therapist
                   Marriage and Family Therapist, Ms. Lee Wai Zi

In today’s society, it is indeed not easy for parents to maintain a good state of mind and body. I have met with many parents and found that the difficulty most parents face is not that they do not understand their children’s feelings and needs, or that they do not know how their behavior affects their children, but that it is difficult to maintain a trusting and optimistic attitude towards their children when they are in a situation. Often, parents become increasingly anxious as they worry that their child’s problems will continue and worsen, and repeat ineffective ways of dealing with their child’s problems.

So, how can parents maintain the best mental state to face the stress and challenges of disciplining their children? Here are some tips for parents to consider:

1. Be more sensitive to your own stress levels
Parents are human beings, so there will be times when they are depressed or physically and emotionally exhausted. The purpose of parents being sensitive to their own mental state is to remind themselves that they need to take care of their own needs first. It is difficult for parents to be sensitive and responsive to the needs of their children when they are in a highly stressed state. Conversely, inappropriate responses may harm the child and damage the parent-child relationship.

2. Use resources effectively to relieve stress
When parents feel stressed, they should try to explore and make good use of their own internal and external resources to regulate their negative emotions. For example, find family members or friends to talk to, do things that can relax you, and find positive thoughts and beliefs to encourage you. The purpose is to give yourself a proper rest and temporary relief from stress.

3. Turn your mind around and reflect
If a parent’s stress continues and increases, professional help is needed. Sometimes, these pressures come from more than just external influences. Parents’ self-worth, worldview, and perceptions of things can affect how we parent. For example, some parents worry that they are not doing enough to fulfill their parental responsibilities and end up pushing their children to study or participate in activities, or even that they are not flexible enough to respond to their children’s needs when they are stressed and negative. If

parents are aware of and take care of their own feelings and needs, they can prevent their negative emotions from affecting the next generation.

Therefore, parents who love their children must first love themselves. Only when parents are healthy and happy can their children grow up healthy and happy.

Categories
Parents Zone

Wear face mask for long time during Epidemic. How to make children learn to “look at people’s eyebrows and eyes”?

Written by: Hong Kong Speech and Swallowing Therapy Centre
Senior Speech Therapist Eunice Siu

In our daily interactions with others, we not only observe others’ behaviors, but also “explain” and “predict” others’ behaviors. Theory of mind is the ability to infer or substitute other people’s mental states, such as their thoughts, beliefs, desires, and intentions, etc., and to use this ability to explain other people’s thoughts, perceptions, and predict their behaviors. Theory of mind can be subdivided into “emotion recognition”, “beliefs” and “pretend play”.

The developmental period for children’s theory of mind is from approximately 3 to 7 years of age. However, before the age of 3, children need to master the following skills to effectively develop theory of mind skills.

1. noticing and imitating the behavior of people around them
2. recognizing the emotions of others and using words to express them (e.g., happy, sad, angry, surprised)
3. participates in pretend play
4. understands that different people have different desires and preferences
5. understands that people will act to get what they want (e.g. reach for candy)
6. understands the causes and consequences of unsympathetic emotions (e.g. if I hit my brother, my mom will be mad and then she will scold me)

Ways to improve theory of mind are:

1. Use more psychologically relevant words when talking to your child

Using psychologically related words to communicate with children can help children understand their own and others’ psychological conditions more specifically. Examples of psychologically related words are “think,” “pretend,” “know,” “believe,” “feel,” and words related to emotions. Pay attention to what your child is trying to say and then respond. For example, “Ah! You want cake”, “Don’t be afraid! You think I’m gone, but I’m still here,” and “Mommy’s mad at you for hitting your brother. Parents can also explain to their children the psychological situation of others, e.g., “Mei-mei is smiling so much when she receives a birthday present, she should be very excited.

2. Participate in role-playing games with your child

Role-playing games encourage children to put themselves in different situations and characters’ perspectives to draw inferences about their behavior. To begin, children can pretend to be common everyday characters, such as mothers, doctors, teachers, and drivers. Parents should pay attention to the fact that both the words and behaviors in the game should be substituted for the role played. This activity helps children experience a variety of emotions, thoughts and interactions in different social situations, and learn to observe, imitate, anticipate, review and adjust their thoughts and behaviors.

I hope parents can make good use of the opportunity to share and communicate more with their children in daily life, so that they can learn to “look at people’s eyebrows and eyes” (meaning read people’s faces) and become a “mind-reading detective”!

Source:
Hollin, P., Baron-Cohen, S.,& Hadwin,J.(1999). Teaching children with autism tomind-read. West Sussex, England: Wiely Press

Lowry, L.(2015).” Tuning in” to others: How young children develop theory of mind. The Hanen Centre.

Spastics Association of Hong Kong (2005). Connecting: Developing social skills in children with autism. Spastics Association of Hong Kong.

system

勿讓幼兒過分依賴使用電子學習 多元化學習更有助提升興趣

撰文:課程發展總監梁嘉敏小姐

疫情下,坊間有琳瑯滿目的教學動畫或網上兒童節目供家長選購,很多家長亦會下載不同平板電腦程式給小朋友使用,希望他們可以在互動或富趣味性的畫面和聲音中學習。究竟哪些動畫和應用程式對小朋友的學習有好處呢?父母使用多媒體幫助小朋友學習時又應該注意甚麼事項呢?

根據年齡使用電子學習的時間

在幼兒時期,由於負責統籌五官的腦部區域正急速發展,筆者不建議 0 至 2 歲的小朋友經常或過分依賴使用電視或平板電腦學習。這是因為電視或平板電腦的影像均在極高頻閃動,幼兒的眼睛及腦袋會在不自覺下不斷接收刺激,久而久之,視覺刺激便成為了習慣,大腦發展也受到影響,導致專注力下降。

有些家長說:「我的孩子看電視玩 iPhone 時很專心的,反而看書便沒有心機了,所以我買很多學習性的動畫給她看。」家長可有想過,如果眼睛和腦袋都習慣了不斷受刺激,相對靜態的東西如書本和老師的講解便自然地變得沒有趣味了,如果您還繼續讓幼童依賴豐富的畫面來學習,將來總有一天他們需要面對書本學習的時候那怎麼辦呢?

2 歲以上的幼兒由於腦部發展較為成熟,所以家長可有限度的讓 2 歲以上的孩子使用電視和電腦來學習。而時間也應該由每天不超過 15 分鐘為起步點,年紀大一些可以看多一點。因為隨著兒童年紀的增長,電腦或電視的高頻閃動對腦部發展的影響會相對地減低。

建議使用多學習模式

雖然顯示屏對兒童的專注力有影響,筆者並不認為使用電視和電腦學習沒有可取之處。多媒體或電腦程式可以提高學習的趣味性和互動性,讓小朋友更喜歡學習,學得更快更多。不過小朋友除了利用互動性高的多媒體來進行學習,他們亦需要適應其他互動性較低的學習模式如圖書和單向式的講解等,並從中尋找學習的趣味。

家長應該為子女提供多元化的學習途徑,如帶子女上圖書館、跟子女玩一些益智遊戲、到博物館參觀,往自然教育徑散步,甚至在餐廳時教子女閱讀英語的菜單等等,令子女多嘗試不同的學習模式和方法,從而尋找學習的樂趣。

分類
家長園地 家長園地 家長園地

教育孩子只為升小?親子教育更重要

撰文:八爪魚家長梁永樂先生

記得當年長子希哥入讀 K1時寫過﹕「孩子,你開心開學嗎﹖」事隔一個學年問孩子「你快樂嗎﹖」答案不用考慮。太太與我萬分慶幸及感謝幼稚園的愛心及努力,希哥每天都很快樂,每天都扭著要上學(尤其要與老師見面)。有心人不忘提醒﹕「準備報考小一時我再問你一次啦,你快樂嗎﹖」可謂一盤冷水。

升小成家長最大陰影?

聽過不少家長訴說,幼稚園三年之中,最大陰影就是升小,到底要為孩子做多少﹖要不要安排面試班?要不要惡補英文或禮貌(沒有寫錯,坊間真的有訓練班惡補禮貌)?或者十八般武藝之中,要有十六般武藝就夠嗎﹖還是要學習冷門的技能,務求突圍而出呢?例如學習魔術或雜技一類。家長與小孩都忙記了享受快樂的親子時間,尤其當一切活動都有目的時,心態亦隨之而改變,孩子可能對興趣班已不再感興趣。

父母擔心選擇心儀小學 製作履歷表

尤其 K3 學生踏入 6 月的「報校旺季」,家長與孩子面對抉擇,要報 10 間還是 8 間小學,作為爸爸,你很希望只報讀一至兩間心儀小學,但你會否擔當得起「阿仔無書讀」的責任呢?

另一難題肯定是製作履歷表,到底要有多精美呢﹖不少學校都表明最多只收 4 頁紙,但眼見其他家長為孩子撰寫的「工作報告」厚如招股書,精美程度直逼蘋果電腦的簡介書。你望一望孩子,不見得他特別醒,也不是超級「靚仔」,你夠膽只做 4 頁履歷表嗎?

「升小」與「做人」的抉擇

總結希哥一年來的幼稚園所得,最矜貴的不是「學術表現」有多佳,而是學會與人相處與禮貌,當然我最感激是老師特別指導希哥「要愛爸爸,爸爸努力工作」,令我在孩子心目中由「成日唔見的人」,而變成「珍惜見到的人」。這些教育對於升小,未必有幫助,但這是親子之間一生一世珍而重之的價值。

回想一下,幼稚園專門培育你的孩子「升小」,還是「做人」?同樣問題,身為家長的你,教育孩子是目的只為「升小」嗎?

分類
家長園地

要愛孩子, 先要愛自己,
3招教你保持最佳心理狀態

撰文:家庭動力兒童遊戲治療師
   婚姻及家庭治療師李慧芝

在現今的社會,父母要保持良好的身心狀態,確實不容易。筆者曾經接觸過很多家長,發現大部分父母所面對的困難,並非不了解孩子的感受和需要,也並非不知道自己的行為如何影響孩子,而是難以在孩子出現狀況時,仍能保持對孩子的信任和樂觀的態度。很多時候,父母擔心孩子的問題會持續和惡化,因而變得愈加焦急,並重複以無效的方法處理孩子的問題。

那麼,父母該如何保持最佳的心理狀況,面對管教子女的壓力和挑戰呢?以下幾點可供父母參考:

1. 對自己的壓力指數更敏感
父母也是人,所以都會有情緒低落或身心疲憊的時候。父母對自己精神狀態敏感的目的,在於提醒自己,要先好好照顧自己的需要。因為當父母在高度壓力的狀態下,難以有效地敏感和回應孩子的需要。反之,不適當的回應有可能會傷害孩子及破壞親子關係。

2. 善用資源,紓緩壓力
當父母感到有壓力時,應該盡量發掘和善用自己內在和外在的資源,調節自己的負面情緒。例如找家人或朋友傾訴、做一些能令自己放鬆的事情、找一些正向的思想和信念鼓勵自己等。目的在於令自己得到適當的休息,暫時紓緩壓力。

3. 轉念,反思
假如父母的壓力持續及增加,便需要尋求專業的協助。有時候,這些壓力不止來自外在環境的影響。父母的自我價值、世界觀及對事物的看法,都會影響我們如何做父母。例如有些父母會擔心自己做得不夠好,未有盡到做父母的責任,結果不斷催促子女學習或參加活動,甚至當孩子出現壓力和負面情緒時,這些父母也無法有彈性地回應子女的需要。假如父母能意識及照顧到自己的感受和需要,便能避免自己的負面情緒影響至下一代。

因此,父母愛孩子,也得要先愛自己。只有父母健康快樂,孩子才能健康快樂地成長。

疫情長時間戴口罩
如何讓孩子學會「睇人眉頭眼額」?

撰文:香港言語及吞嚥治療中心
   高級言語治療師 蕭以嵐

在日常與他人社交互動中,我們除了觀察他人的行為外,也會對他人的行為作「解釋」及「預測」。心智理論 (Theory of mind) 是推論或代入他人心智狀態的能力,例如代入他人的想法、信念、慾望和意圖等,運用此能力去解釋他人的想法、知覺及預測他們的行為。心智理論可細分成「情緒辨識」、「信念」和「假裝性遊戲」。

兒童心智理論的發展時期,大約是從 3 到 7 歲。但 3 歲之前,孩子要先掌握以下技巧才能有效地發展心智理論能力:

1. 留意身邊人們的行為及加以模仿
2. 辨認他人的情緒並運用詞語表達(例如:開心、傷心、嬲、驚)
3. 能參與假裝性遊戲
4. 明白不同的人有不同的慾望及喜好
5. 明白人會作出行為來獲得想要的東西(例如:伸手拿取糖果)
6. 明白不同情緒所產生的原因及後果(例如:如果我打哥哥,媽媽就會嬲,然後會鬧我。)

提升心智理論的方法有:

1. 向孩子交談時多用與心理有關的詞彙
運用與心理有關的詞彙與孩子溝通,可令孩子更具體地了解自己及別人的心理狀況。心理有關的詞彙例子有「想」、「假裝」、「知道」、「相信」、「覺得」及與情緒有關的詞語。平時多留意孩子想表達的意思,再給予回應。例如:「啊!你想要蛋糕」、「不要怕!你以為我走了,其實我還在」、「媽咪好嬲因為你打哥哥」。家長亦可多向孩子解釋他人的心理狀況,例如:「美美收到份生日禮物笑得很燦爛,佢應該覺得好興奮。」

2. 與孩子參與角色扮演遊戲
角色扮演遊戲鼓勵孩子代入不同的處境及人物的角度思考,藉此推論出相關的行為。開始扮演時,孩子可先扮作日常生活常見的人物,例如:媽媽、醫生、老師和司機。家長要留意,在遊戲中無論說話和行為都要代入所扮的角色。此活動能幫助孩子從不同社交情境中體驗各種情緒、想法及互動情況,亦在當中學習觀察、模仿、預知、檢討及調整自己的想法及行為。

希望家長能在日常生活善用機會,與孩子多分享、多溝通,讓他們學會「睇人眉頭眼額」,成為一個「讀心神探」!

資料來源:
Hollin,P., Baron-Cohen, S.,& Hadwin,J.(1999). Teaching children with autism tomind-read. West Sussex, England: Wiely Press

Lowry,L.(2015).” Tuning in” to others: How young children develop theory of mind. TheHanen Centre.

香港痙攣協會 (2005). 聯情繫意: 發展自閉症幼兒的社交能力. 香港痙攣協會.